Herb2 40px

Joanna Zakrzewska Ledóchowska





Professor Joanna M. Zakrzewska

Qualifications, Professional bodies, Appointments & Awards


Tomes Medal



Professor Zakrzewska receiving the Charles Tomes Medal from the Dean of the Faculty of Dental Surgery of RCS England, Professor Michael Escudier, after delivering the Charles Tomes Lecture at the Royal College of Surgeons on 14th March 2019.




Academic qualifications

1972 BDS King's College, University of London
1979 MB BChir Newnham, University of Cambridge
1980 FDS RCS Royal College of Surgeons, England
1990 MD University of Cambridge
1991 FFD RCSI Oral Medicine Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland
2000 FHEA Higher Education Academy
2008 FFPMRCA Royal College of Anaesthetists
Registrations 2525044 General Medical Council
  46685 General Dental Council


Membership of professional bodies

British Medical Association Medical Women's Federation
Royal Society of Medicine Cochrane Collaboration - oral/neuromuscular
British Dental Association British Society for Oral Medicine
British Pain Society International Association for the Study of Pain
Society of Authors International Headache Society



May 2015 - Consultant / Hon Professor, Oral Medicine (facial pain ) Eastman Dental Hospital and Pain Management Centre, National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, UCLH NHS Foundation Trust ; 2 PAs research funded from Centre Biomedical Research UCL
April 2007 - May 2015 Consultant / Hon Professor, Oral Medicine, lead of facial pain unit
Eastman Dental Hospital UCLH NHS Foundation Trust
April 2007 – Aug 2008 The John Radcliffe Oxford NHS Trust ( 2 sessions)
July 2004 – March 2007 Professor of pain in relation to oral medicine Clinical Diagnostic and Oral Sciences, Institute of Dentistry, Barts and the London,
Queen Mary’s School of Medicine & Dentistry
Dec 1996-June 2004 Senior Lecturer/Hon. Consultant in Oral Medicine Clinical Diagnostic and Oral Sciences, Institute of Dentistry, Barts and the London,
Queen Mary’s School of Medicine & Dentistry
1989 - 2007 Hon Consultant  National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery
Jan 1991 – March 2000 Consultant/Hon. Senior Lecturer Mortimer Market Dental Clinic/ AIDS/HIV/GUM, Camden & Islington NHS Trust 1- 3 sessions
Jan 1991 -  Feb 1996 Consultant Oral Physician University College London Hospitals
April 1989- Dec 1995 Consultant/Honorary Senior Lecturer in Oral Medicine EDH
Apr 1986 – Mar 1989 Research Fellow/Honorary Senior Registrar in Oral Medicine EDH
Apr 1984 – Mar 1986 Locum Senior Registrar, Oral & Maxfac Surg & Oral Medicine EDH
Feb 1982 – Mar 1984 Registrar, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery,Eastman Dental Hospital EDH
Apr 1981 – Jan 1982 SHO ENT St Mary's Hospital, London W2
Aug 1980 – Jan 1981 HS Thoracic Surgery/Orthopaedics, Norfolk & Norwich
Feb 1980 – July 1980 HP to Dr A Dick and Dr J Hunter, Cambridge
Oct 1978 – Oct 1979 Supervisor in Pathology Tripos 1 Newnham Cambridge
Dec 1975 – Aug 1977 Dental Clinical Assistant St Mary's Hospital, London W2
Oct 1975 – Oct 1979 Medical Student, St Mary’s & Cambridge
Mar 1975 – Sept 1975 SHO Oral Surgery Eastman Dental Hospital
Feb 1974 – Feb 1975 SHO Dental Surgery St Mary's Hospital, London W2
Sept 1973 ‑ Jan 1974 General Dental Practice Miss B J Baldwin, Sutton, Surrey
Feb 1973 – July 1973 HS Dental King's College Hospital Dental School


Top Quality Patient Care Award for
Facial Pain MDT Team, Eastman Dental Hospital
University College London Hospitals
NHS Foundation Trust 2019
thebmjawards, Finalists, Clinical Leadership,
MDT for Trigeminal Neuralgia project
BMA Clinical Excellence Awards 2019
Charles Tomes Medal, Charles Tomes Lecturer Royal College of Surgeons England 2019
Senior Neuroscientist Award of the Year International Association for Dental Research 2018
Honorary Member of the Society
Sodalem Honoris Causa Societatis
Polish Association for the Study of Pain 2015
Polskie Towarzystwo Badania Bólu
Officer's Cross of the Order of Service to Poland Krzyż Oficerski Orderu Zasługi Rzeczypospolitej Polski President of the Republic of Poland 2009
Prezydent Rzeczypospolitej Polski, Lech Kaczyński



IADR Award




Professor Joanna Zakrzewska (on the left) receiving the Senior Neuroscientist Award of the Year from the International Association for Dental Researc ("IADR") in London on 27th July 2018.









The MDT for Trigeminal Neuralgia team at Eastman Dental Hospital, Finalists at the BMA Clinical Excellence Award on 24th April 2019.





Patient Care AwardPatient Award Cert






Information on living family members will be included in this website only if submitted or approved by them. Informacja o żyjących członkach rodziny może zostać umieszczona na tych stronach jedynie w wypadku gdy dana osoba wyrazi zgodę. Jan Ledóchowski